Yea its expert culture day

The reality of communication always bothers me. Communication is easy to deal with the topic. It is pretty straightforward. You get information; you share information. It isn’t rocket science unless you are a rocket scientist sharing details of how a rocket works. It is pretty straightforward. But organizations create massive processes around information creation, management, and delivery. Here is the fatal flaw in those systems, it doesn’t break the organizational silos. What, you might ask, is an organizational data or information silo? Well, simply put, it is the overall barrier to communication.

What I know. What makes me smart?

Or sometimes, and sadly, what I know is how that is implemented and how I keep my job.

In the past, I have derided the concept of an expert culture. I am not a fan of expert cultures. They are very dangerous when it comes to information sharing. Expert cultures are great at creating information. They are great at validating information (to a degree, experts don’t like when their ideas are questioned) but sharing information undercuts the expert culture. The graphic shows the problem. You need to know. Sometimes, you go to the expert and ask for that information. clip_image002The reality is the expert or the expert network will bounce around your question and bring you back an answer. But the information, the very thing you need, remains with the experts. My father used to say, do you know what an expert is? “Ex” is someone with a past. “Spert” is a drip under pressure. In other words, be careful.

The sad reality of expert culture is that they are hard to break.

.doc