Introducing Fish Buddy!

On Sunday, as I was crossing the busiest street on my walking path (I took three days off this week to rest my foot), I nearly got hit by a van. I understand the concept of a rolling stop; I’ve done a few where I rolled up to an empty intersection and then drove on through. However, in all cases, I slowed down, and I stopped if there was a pedestrian. A white van going close to 30 didn’t even slow down for the stop sign; it just blew on through. On all my routes, this stop area is the second busiest street I can walk near and the busiest on the route I normally take. Not a good place to blow through a stop sign.

I got an email from a friend yesterday that made me laugh hard. He started with the formal, Dear Doc; we are sorry to inform you that your constant posting of Dogs, walks, Robots, and squirrels have caused us to respond to you. My friend went with the usual holiday greetings and asked about the Bird Buddy. He was curious about adding one to his collection. I sent him the link, and then thinking about what he said, the cease flavor of the letter, I laughed!

On the road to bird buddyOverall I am enjoying Squirrel buddy, or I could change the name to Occasional Bird, mostly squirrel buddy.  (time stamp on this picture and the video shows the bird triggered the motion sensor but wasn’t visible this was take with my camera!)

That did get me thinking, though, on a more whimsical side. You could do a waterproof version of Bird Buddy (Fish Buddy). You could do a version of Bird Buddy for baseball stadiums (Hot Dog Buddy). If you wanted, you could put Buddy cameras everywhere. They would take over the world! I would love to see Fish Buddy. That would be amazing. The camera would need to be modified as there is less light underwater. There are already home dog cameras designed to allow you to watch your dog while you are away. But the concept of the Fish Cam – that would be so cool!

.doc