more on the apple air pods and integration

The following was not included with my review of the Air Pods yesterday.

One of the features of the air pods I did love and forgot to include in my review yesterday is that they enable notifications to be read. When walking with the Air Pods, it is nice to know what my notifications are and what actions I can take. For text messages, they are read to me, and I can reply. For some of my emails (Hotmail/outlook.com and Gmail), I can listen to and reply to my email. Outlook on the iPhone does not currently support replies, so I can’t reply to my O365 account email, but I am sure that will be enabled at some point.

Apple Air Pod ProOverall, it is powerful not to have to take the phone out of my pocket! I can also get directions if I am walking a new path I laid out in mapping software; you get directional prompts on the Apple Watch and via the Air Pods. I also can answer or start calls and start directions via Siri. Those are nice integration features. There was a time, many years ago, when I was a Mac first person. I moved to the PC world, but I have to say that having an Android phone and an iPhone to use, the iPhone is just a better phone. Not by a little, by a lot better.

Fit and finish are important in the end. But the reality is that functionality will always win. In fairness to the Android phone, I use it for calls mostly. I do not have applications on it, but I do have an Android Tablet that I use. I can honestly say the Android tablet is as good as the iPad. I use my iPad more, but that is because it has a lot more storage, and I can share applications between my iPad and iPhone. The Android Tablet is good; I don’t enjoy the Android phone experience much. From fanboy once to fanboy again!

.doc