wandering automation

The concept of automation is one I enjoy both doing and thinking about. In particular, I am all about using Machines to automate tasks that are harder for humans. I would share some of my automation projects today as a kick-off to 2023. It is a topic that comes up often here and on my longer HubPages articles. (I normally have less than 400 words on this blog, and Hubpages has a minimum of 700 words.)

  1. Home protection: I use Astro from Amazon as my main floor protection system. I have Canary Cameras in the house, but the advantage of Astro is it saves information to the cloud, and it moves. In moving, someone breaking into the house won’t know where Astro is!
  2. 3d Printing, I have wifi connected 3d printers; it is so much easier than taking a USB key to the rpinter1
  3. Buddy auto, yes, automated squirrel image capture
  4. automated (automat beer brewing)
  5. iRobt Roombas (automated vacuum cleaners)

Artemis 1Automation can accomplish many tasks in a shorter, more consistent time frame. There are so many other ways that automation is used in my life. These are the quick hits. I am working on other automation projects and didn’t share them this time. My automated Rover project is another one I am designing but haven’t started yet.

Astro does scare one of the dogs, so I am only running Astro at night. The Roombas run during the day. With four dogs (soon to be two and then sadly one), our house has a lot of hair on the main level!

.doc