Voice control continues to improve

There are so many things I want to talk about right now from a social perspective, but I am trying to be fair and not spend all my time shouting from the mountain tops that we need to do better. Instead, today I wanted to talk about two things that are interesting/exciting. The first thing is the ever-improving reality that is Apple Car Play. I know, I use it when I am driving, that the product has gotten a lot better I use it more and more in other places. Voice control continues to get better and better. The other day I was wandering to a restaurant and ended up wanting to listen to a podcast. Using my voice, I told Siri to open my podcasts and play the one I wanted to hear.

Artificial-Intelligence

I know many jokes about asking Alexa (the amazon voice control system) or asking Siri questions. You do, from time to time, get rather interesting results. But, the quality is better and better! Beyond Apple Carplay, there is that growing world of voice control. I mentioned Amazon Alexa already. I use Alexa frequently (at least 4 to 6 times every single day). Alexa has been integrated with many products. The integration is available in the market, and you can quickly download and enable the connection. I won’t go into the reality of home weather stations, but you can connect your Bloomsky and your Alexa, and then when you ask for the temperature, specify Bloomsky, and you will get the temperature where you are!

How can I say voice control is better now? Because, yes, there are errors. Yes, those errors are frustrating. But if you tried voice command five years ago versus now in a moving car, you would quickly realize that voice command is better. Cars are not quiet by any means. The ambient noise is pretty bad. But Siri, Alexa, and Google are much better now at learning, listening, and hearing. Even Cortana is better, although more and more things that use Cortana are removing that voice control system. I do use Cortana on my PC occasionally. Siri remains number one in terms of frequency of use. Amazon Alexa is number two but not by a lot, and then it is Google and finally Cortana. Voice control is improving, and that makes it effective!

.doc