Yesterday’s weather and seeing what is actually under the surface of the water around you!

I realized yesterday that watching the Bloomsky video of clouds was very relaxing. It is a time-lapse video that I call Yesterday’s Weather, never wrong. Here is a link to my YouTube channel. I have a lot of family videos there, but I do also post the videos most days. There are a few I have missed since January. But for the most part, I do get yesterday’s weather posted, after all, it already happened.

There are a few weather geeks out there, and that number if growing rapidly. When I bought my first Davis, and before that Oregon Scientific stations, there were few of us. We shared our weather on the Weather Underground site, and we were a very small club. Now, with NetATMO and Bloomsky the number of stations is growing (there are 11 in my part of Maryland alone.) I guess it may be time for me to move on from home weather stations, I may be too geeky now for that world.

One of the projects that I am excited about right now is the Trident Remotely operated vehicle. Hopefully (fingers crossed) the system ships this summer so we can use it a little. Trident is from OpenROV, a company founded on and built around providing Remotely Operated Vehicles for hobbyists and professionals. A professional ROV can run upwards of 30,000 dollars. A hobbyist usually run less than a thousand dollars. The difference now is the ability to operate in deeper water (professional) and to have more capabilities (lift arms, retrieval systems, etc.). But Trident is the second OpenROV that I have owned, and I enjoyed playing and experimenting with the old one. With some of the new cameras, the quality of video (nearly 4k) provides you with stunning views underwater. Not just a sonar-style object, but the actual object. Where underwater drones are interesting is in the same way traditional above ground flying drones are, you can see things you don’t normally see. I suspect the number of drones used by companies will continue to increase. Solar companies can install your solar roof, then use drones check on that roof for issues. Roofing companies can fly a drone over your roof to verify installation, issues and so on. Insurance companies can use drones to fly over damaged roofs. Firefighters can use drones equipped with infrared cameras to fly over roofs and find hot spots, before a firefighter steps on one.

Underwater ROV’s can help with item recovery (in shallower water) but also help extend not only the view but also the understanding of how the underwater eco-system is working. Plus ROV’s don’t have to use scuba gear. While I love swimming and being in the water, I am always a little nervous when we start going a little deeper and all that is around me is unknown. Now, we can send in the Trident RPV tp explore. We will know what is below us before we hop in and find out.

.doc

Geek-at-large