So there is a good reason to take pictures with your cellular device…

I know, as a technologist, that there are many ways to solve problems. I also know, as someone that has survived enterprise migrations, that there are more ways not to solve problems. The not to sometimes exceeds the should by a huge amount.

It is why I ended up compiling all the not too”s” I’ve run into and sharing them with other people for many years. It is part of why I write this technology futures blog. In part to share the art of the possible, but also to share what I have learned.

I often get great emails or comments that I share back to the broader group of readers. In particular, I got a great email the other day that not only made me think but actually got me to consider a different view. It got me to change the way I was thinking.

The writer of this missive is someone I have never met. They are someone that started reading my blog about a month ago, and this is their second email to me. The first was simply “thanks for sharing, the information was useful.” The second was a more interesting conversation starter and mind changer.

“why are you so anti-cellular phone cameras.” Well, that one is an easy question to ask and answer. Mostly because the quality of the images is poor. “But what about those of us who only have a cellular camera.” That is a statement I’ve heard before, but it did cause me to pause and now change my position a little.

The difference between a video camera and a cellular captured video is the amount of motion. A camera, such as a video camera is made to be held in your hand. Action cameras such as the phenomenal go-pro series, include a way to mount them to your bike helmet or to easily hold them with a pistol grip. That is the why of no cellular video. You have to be stable, sitting and able to hold the phone at an unnatural angle for the video to even be ok.

But if it is the only camera you have, then, by all means, take a lot of pictures. Back those pictures up (Windows 10 has a great feature as part of OneDrive that does that automatically. Google Drive has a nice feature for that as well.) Don’t just have them on the cellular phone you carry (drop, lose and otherwise abuse).

Finally, if you do take pictures on your cell phone, share them. Not just the occasional Instagram, Pinterest or Facebook post. Actually, back them up to a cloud drive and show them to people. No matter how many bad pictures you take, there is nothing better than sharing them with someone. Then two people know you are a bad photographer (or because I’ve shared so many bad pictures 1000’s of people have realized I am a bad photographer!).

.doc

Futurist…