Occipital releases Canvas and other fun tech stuff…

One of the coolest Kickstarter campaigns I backed was the Structure Sensor from Occipital. It allows you to connect a 3d scanner to your iPad, Android tablet or phone. Like Wallabot (another cool attachment product but not iPhone/iPad support as of now) it is an add on. They have released a new software package that is truly exciting. It is called Canvas, and it lets you create 3d maps of rooms in your house. I am sharing pictures of the sensor connected to my iPad, will share the scans at some later point.

Why is 3d scanning necessary? As we move further and further into the new age of IoT devices, being able to examine things in space is critical. The other side of scanning your house is that when you do move to the next level and decide to sell your home, you can hand the scans to the realtor. But you can also pre- move furniture. We recently wrapped the couch in our living room. It would have been so much easier for us (it was a little bigger when we got it home than we were expecting) if we could have placed a 3d image of the couch into our actual scanned room.

After the termination and bankruptcy of the PopSlate team, I did want to point out that crowdfunding is a risk. I did also want to say that many excellent companies are born in the crowdfunding world. Occipital is one of those!

There are many other crowdfunding projects to call out as exceptional, but for now let’s stay with the 3d scanner as one of the top projects I’ve backed, waited for and now, love!

For a long time, I was using the 3d Systems Sense Scanner, but Structure is a much better product and easier to use! Plus the software for the Structure is installable on mobile devices. That frees me from having to have a long USB cable to scan things.

IMG_0415The world of connected devices continues to expand. I am all about the many available connected devices. It is sometimes a little frustrating the differences between the new iPhone and the iPad Pro regarding the simulated 3.5 mm audio jack and the apparently less functional audio jack on an iPad. There are some devices that connected to the iPad just don’t work properly, and now they no longer work with the Lightning to 3.5mm connector of the iPhone either. I think I am going to create a list and post it for others to use.

I think I will wait for the post until after 10.3 of iOS to see if they either fixed the issues with the lightening to 3.5 jack or improved the iPad Pro’s port. Either way, I will give them a chance to shake out the initial bugs and see if they can get better!

Ending today’s positive tech note on a couple of interesting new technology ideas that are playing out. The first is the ever-increasing reality of IoT and DDOS attacks. Every smart connected device can be hacked. Every hacked device leaves your home, and of course the internet itself vulnerable. No matter what you do always change the default password to a new one! The other interesting trend that I am watching right now is the reality of tablets.

When I first started as an IT consultant more than 25 years ago, the consultant had to carry a huge laptop. The old luggable were horrifying. Every day you tore your arms a little more. Now, laptops and tablets are moving to ever smaller and ever better functionality. I find that I can do more than 70% of my job on an iPad now. My test case was setting up some G-Suite accounts via my iPad rather than using my computer. I’ve set up Office 365 accounts via my computer many times. But this time I wanted to try enabling things with my iPad. I can honestly say it took the same amount of time as doing it on my computer and I had the luxury of wandering around the office area as I was doing it.

1. G-Suite is a lot better than it used to be.

2. My iPad is becoming more and more a replacement for a laptop.