Of automation, frustration and dealing with my storage issue…

20170225_130808000_iOSOne of the things that always bothers me is the quest to be a good person. It doesn’t bother me to be a good person, but the quest often does. I know for example that I am not the most courteous driver. If you roll up next to me in a lane I know in a ¼ mile, I am going to make sure I match your speed, so you have to slow down. Why? Because it is annoying when people do that, driving is something to approach not with me first attitude.

There are issues/components/things within the world of IoT that cause a similar reaction. It is a feeling of frustration and aggravation with the automation of a process or tool. It is a very natural feeling, most of us experience it from time to time. It is not the arrogance that allows you to pull to the front of the second lane line, knowing you have to merge, it is the reality of technology, the reality of driving.

For me, that technology is the ever changing alarm clock. By ever changing I mean twice a year I have to adjust my alarm clock. That is why I recently upgraded to the new Bed. Bedding is an alarm clock that sits by your bed but connects to your phone. So last night around 1 am, when the time changed to Daylight savings time, so did my alarm clock. I didn’t have to spring forward, and as I was going to sleep lose an hour of sleep. I automatically lost an hour of sleep without having to worry about it!

I am sure that if I paused and spent time, I could come up with ten more things that bug me like that. But many people would agree that the transition to daylight savings time can be annoying. In part because as we spring forward, we lose an hour of sleep. But also because we have to remember to set the clock forward an hour. Bedding is a great tool for that (and yes it is a formerly crowdfunded project).

Removing stress and aggregation from life is my new technology quest. I have thought about reducing my technology footprint, moving away from the IoT craze but in the end, I suspect that isn’t the best course of action. Some technologies can change the world. The first thing I need to figure out is a balance.

I know that I go too far to the reality of let’s see if we can automate that. It is a core theme in nearly all of my books in the past ten years. Once, I wrote works of fiction only. Now I tend more towards making the world a better place via technology. Funny the evolution of thinking, when you take the time to consider what you thought and what you think!

If, and by if I am stretching, I was able to let go of some things as far as automation what would they be? There are things, like remote underwater ROV’s that while scuba diving is exciting, not something I want to pick up now. So underwater ROV’s are something that stays. I should, however, cut down to no more than two. One that is charging and one that is viewing. The same goes for aerial drones. You only need one charging and one flying so I can cut down a little there.

I do need to start reducing the footprint of things. The other day I was cleaning out my well no one ever goes in here closet, and I realized that while it, the nobody ever goes in here closet, isn’t as bad as the one I had in Greenwood, it is pretty bad. In Greenwood, I had the whole basement. We had a media room, an extra room, guest bedroom and my office. Our house in Greenwood was a lot bigger than the one we have now. I had converted the old furnace room in Greenwood into my infamous closet that no one else ever goes into. I had shelves and more than ten years of boxes and books in there. When we moved, it took one day just to clean out that room. I promised myself I wouldn’t do that again, so the current closet no one else goes into is much less bad. I also force myself to leave the door open and have family stuff in there, so people go in all the time.

It isn’t easy to break old habits, but I am trying!

At least now if you ask me for something, I know which room it is in. I had a hidden closet that no one went into, including me in Greenwood connected to my office. It was even worse than the furnace room.