Cool Tech Wander Project issue 2

The smaller the processor, the more interesting right? I’ve played around with two different smaller systems in the past few weeks. A Raspberry PI 3 device and the Octel Pocket sized PC device. First off, both are extremely attractive.

In part because of the reality of small. In part because of the geek factor. In part because I am curious as to what we are heading towards. Someday, people will look back at this time and call it the time of technological transformation. Where we moved from tech reliance to tech enablement. The world where the technology itself becomes the path forward for everyone.

The Microsoft Hololens system is a computer, screen and audio system you can wear. The Oculus Rift system is a Virtual Reality system that connects to your computer and let’s you do more with less. Now the bad news, you can’t connect Oculus Rift to any computer, there are requirements, and they are pretty hard core overall.

It reminds me of a diatribe I was having four years ago, the Screen as a Service. I had started the concept for myself, to explain both the goals, but also the changes in screen technology. It is something that I find interesting. Today a lot of the concepts that I was thinking would come to pass, have stalled. Microsoft, Google, and Amazon have all released screen share technology. As by the way, Samsung, LG and other Television manufacturers. But the concept was ubiquitous access to any monitor, that just hasn’t happened.

Instead, the screen has moved back to personal. Smart watches have modified the concept of the screen as a service making the screen the service for many things but adding the concept of a filter. I had talked four years ago about the concept of the filter. Send me data I can use on the screen I have, not all the data possible, overloading both my ability and the system I am using.

That brings me back to the smaller devices now shipping. The value of a PC you can put in your pocket is of course bound to what you intend to do with the PC in question. For me it is simply to have a device running a web browser that I can take with me, that can play video’s and surf the web quickly on any screen I have. The NexDock product is perfect for this. It gives me a device (screen) I can use with the Octel that includes Bluetooth keyboard and touchpad. It gives me the ability to setup a Nexdock in other locations that I frequent so that I can simply carry the smaller Octel between them.

I haven’t connected the Raspberry PI to the NexDock, but that is more that I am still learning the ins and outs of the OS.

Finally, on a side note, IBM announced their new alignment with Indiegogo going forward. That is something I have been talking about with some companies for a long time. IBM is doing it to get ahead in the IoT space. Personally, while that is important, it is just the start. The goal of everyone backing projects is to find something new and cool. The reality of a company doing that is less exciting, and I hope they have carefully considered what their overall goal is. Frankly, personally, I think the reality of trying to support and grow IoT won’t work with old line IBM. They don’t move fast and don’t have the overall organizational agility that crowdfunding would demand. Plus they are only connected with one platform, while I love Indiegogo, they are only one platform. So this new development is both existing, and I think scary.

The path to tomorrow probably doesn’t start anywhere near White Plains New York. This is why IBM is building this new practice in Europe. I just don’t think IBM, Microsoft or Amazon are the answer in this case.

There are better ways and a better path forward. It does make me wonder if I am going to stop backing Indiegogo projects.

.doc

wondering…