Just another cool-tech post!

20150808_155054088_iOSCool Tech posts (my new year’s resolution was to do more, mostly because several readers asked for more)! Let’s start today with an interesting product. There are some weather stations you can have at your home or apartment that are useful. Personally, I have two rules for weather stations now. The first is they have to be connected. What is the value of knowing the weather at your house, if you can’t be away from your house, to find out what the weather there is?

The other thing now is time-lapse video. Well at least for weather. The Bloomsky, an incredible weather station includes both remote viewings (I can tell what the NWS says the weather is in my area and what my home station says the weather is. I find on average a variance of 2-3 degrees most days). Plus the Bloomsky saves excellent time-lapse videos. I have quite a few on my YouTube channel so far.

Bloomsky part 1 is available on their site now. The second tool (which includes more collectible data like wind speed, wind direction, and others) will be available later this year. I can’t wait for the second module. I know I am a weather geek, but it is cool to see.

NetATMO is another great toolset for home weather. You can today get wind speed and direction, rainfall and current atmospheric conditions outside and inside your house. You can have three, four or even five sensors in your house telling you what your air quality and other measurements including temperature are in your house. Why do you care? Well first off our basement is on average 2 degrees cooler than the upstairs is (but heat rises). When we are using our fireplace, though, our basement is 4 or 5 degrees cooler. Something to pay attention to because it impacts home quickly your house can change the overall temperature.

20150429_020953550_iOSBoth of these weather solutions install quickly. Both include an outdoor component. NetATMO also includes an indoor component. Both have the excellent software. There is something to be said for knowing and sharing the weather at your house. The creator of Bloomsky calls it Micro-Weather, where you can quickly see the changes in temperature over both a micro and a macro scale within a geography. You would be amazed at the deltas.

Bloomsky does require a 2.4 MHz network for its Wi-Fi connection. It does not like 5.0 MHz networks. Most in-home routers broadcast on both 2.4 and 5.0 so you won’t have to buy a new router. Now, if you have read my recommendations about redoing your home network, then you already have two wireless routers. I have a 2.4 MHz router dedicated to Internet of Things devices to reduce the wear and tear on my families 5.0 wi-fi network. Having multiple Netflix connections running at any one time drains even the fastest in-home wi-fi quickly!

Images today courtesy of my cellular phone collection!

.doc

Weather geek