More cool tech, plus start your family history project!!!!!

album022There are a number of technology projects I’ve been working on, as part of my weekend’s etcetera. A couple of them are focused more on building new things, a couple is focused on improving things I already have. I talked briefly yesterday about the new book I am considering. The fatal flaw in IT. I won’t be posting any of that on-line. It is the first book I’ve embarked on in a long time that will not be shared on my blog first. The other thing I am working on is a class with a friend. We are redoing an existing class and trying to move it from being a high-level static class to an interactive introductory class.

One of the things that I am really looking forward to this spring is the release of the new OpenRov Trident project. I had one of the first OpenRov project kits. It was a good underwater ROV and we enjoyed playing with it (mostly in our neighborhood pool as we had it before we had the boat). Now, with the boat and the chance to see more, explore more, I am looking forward to an afternoon exploring what is on, around and below the water of the Chesapeake bay! OpenROV is a really cool startup that needs support, if you are at all interested in exploring what is below the surface of the water but aren’t a scuba or snorkeling person, OpenROV is for you. If you love snorkeling or Scuba but want to see what you are going to see before you get into the water, OpenROV is also for you. Actually, if you just like to sit on the dock, of the bay and listen to Otis Redding, OpenROV is for you as well!

I had made a resolution to do cooler and future tech posts as my New Years Blog-o-solution. It is something I have done for years with my blog. One of the coolest projects, one of the several cool projects in the overall space of 360-degree cameras shipped recently Camorama. One thing that the product has with it is an underwater case. A case that will let you take video underwater. I can’t wait to try it out. Underwater video is something I have shared a lot on our YouTube channel. We have underwater video from Hawaii, Wisconsin Dells and I haven’t shared it but we have video from underwater in our pool when we lived in Indiana as well.

album020Another cool technology thing is the conversion of old video and film. I’ve talked a lot over the past three years of our family history project. There were two more parts to that project that are just now finishing up. My grandfather left me 32 cans of 16mm film. I recently had them converted to digital files by the folks at iMemories. The link will take you to one of the files that I posted on YouTube. My time lapse weather station replacement is coming this week so I will be back to posting Time Lapse DC weather videos soon.

Some of the video iMemories converted for our dates to 1946. My grandfather was usually ahead of his time in a lot of things. Cameras and technology were often areas he tried to be first in! I guess I inherited that from him.

Now back to my original family history project warnings. Spend a little extra and have at least three copies of your digital files. I recommend the following, join Amazon Prime. You get unlimited photo storage with Prime, so take advantage of that, and have pictures on-line! I also HIGHLY recommend carbonite. It backs-up your PC using your Internet connection. That would give you three copies of which two copies are not in your house. Have a fire that destroys everything, you still have your family history project files in the cloud.

I also recommend two or more local copies. I can’t tell you how many people I know that did conversions of old photographs and only had one copy. I try to have as many as 4 copies at any one time, plus copies were given to my sisters and my mother.

album092I love watching the old videos of my mom and my uncle. Plus seeing videos of me when I was cute are always fun. I don’t know what went wrong, but cute is something I see in the far distance of the rear view mirror of my life now.

Start your family history project. Someday it won’t be history because it was forgotten.

Images today from the converted Joan Ralstin collection.

.doc

Technologist