The technology of our walks…

IMGP0017We had an interesting discussion on our evening walk last night. The conversation was around the concept of, need for and the overall impact of driverless cars. One of the primary reasons for the conversation is that once again, a car nearly ran over us. We were clearly in the crosswalk, but an aggressive, I have to get ahead of everyone else driver, nearly hit us. I saw him, he did not see us. I don’t think he realized how badly he screwed up until he was on the other side of the intersection. I just threw up my hands into the air. I guess I was suffering from walkers rage.

The point made, of course, on our walk was that drivers like that would be removed. The computer AI would drive the car. That person wouldn’t be driving. Except that in all cases I’ve seen so far there is a manual override option. I suspect drivers like that would kick into manual override, well the minute they got into the car.

So we talked about mandatory testing. That you couldn’t pop into manual mode until you had passed a psych, and driving skills exam. We agreed that there were people who could and should drive and frankly people that shouldn’t and can’t drive.

IMGP0018Yes, we have technology conversations like that all the time. I often ask the boys to describe the gameplay and expectations of the games they are playing. I can read about them, but that is at best a one-sided biased view of the game. I want to know what they think the rationale, goals and bad things about the games are. Plus it gives them a chance to connect and share something they are passionate about.

I am sure passing runners, bikers, other walkers, and birds have heard snippets of odd conversations flying, passing, or walking by us in the past. That part I cannot help. I am curious as to not only what the boys think but how they think about various things.

They are both passionate about video games. I was as well, once upon a time. Although my video games at least, in the beginning, cost a quarter every time. I was never as good as a lot of different people I knew at Galaga, Asteroid and so on. I knew people that could beat Ms. PacMan and the original PacMan every time. I just struggled most times to get way from the ghosts.

Growing up digital, I think is the real name for it. As a technologist, I exposed my children o technology at an early age. I expected them to be able to troubleshoot and solve their own problems. Mostly because at times I simply answered you can fix it yourself, or wait until I get home. Since there were times that I wouldn’t be home for two weeks, it was best to fix it themselves.

IMGP0019Self Reliance is a key skill when it comes to technology. Understand that you know enough about what you’re trying to do to solve the problem, and then keep trying. I can say it was actually a goal of mine to teach the kids to be technology independent. I also taught them to cook at an early age. I never want my kids to be stuck not being able to solve problems of any kind!

Today’s images are from the digital collection of Dr. Hans O. Andersen.

.doc

Technologist