Suddenly I found myself up to my neck in alligators.

IMGP0009

Hard to remember then, the original job was drain the swamp!

It is funny, I started a project three years ago with the intent of making logical sense of all the pictures my father and grandfather left behind (physical picture prints and slides). 30,000 or so of slides and another 4,000 or more pictures.

We (and by we, in this case, it is the royal we, my kids did most of the scanning) scanned for nearly 11 months. Doing between 2000 and 3000 images per month. Doing another 2000 slides per month also. We scanned two full tubs, one full suitcase (that my mother brought when she came to visit us) and two cardboard boxes full of albums. We scanned images from the 1940’s, 1950’s and all the way to today.

I found out I was a cute baby. So now I am wondering what went wrong because I am not cute now. I guess the apple fell from the tree and then rolled under something that squished it.

The other day I was looking for pictures to share in my family history project blog. I’ve been doing my own wander project or a Where’s Waldo of Scott project. My kids all did wander Indiana projects in 5th grade. Basically, you picked a place in Indiana, went to it, and then wrote a report about it. So we did three different projects. Marengo cave was my daughters choice. Vincennes Indiana was the first choice of one twin. Indiana University and Bloomington Indiana and in particular the School of Education was the first choice of the other twin.

IMGP0008Based on that, and the fact that I didn’t get to do a cool wander project when I was in 5th grade, I started doing one of my other blogs. I’ve had the opportunity to wander the world for more than 40 years now and it has been fun to share.

Then I wandered into the wrong place. In my folder family pictures, where I keep the majority of the pictures I found a folder called Barb picture disks. I have more than 40 disks of pictures. Good thinking on my part to keep the original high-quality originals of film and digital. Bad thinking because they are labeled picture disk 1, 2, 3 and so on.

So now I have to sort through all of them and figure out what event hey really were. Otherwise, when the pictures are shared with family there isn’t a frame of reference. Sure you could use image identification and facial recognition to figure out who each person in the picture is. You could use Microsoft Flow, create a flow that would look at your on-line picture folders, using facial recognition, take images of people. But that wouldn’t allow you to have the next level of connection, what event were the people gathering for.

picture disks...Yes, the images have 23 people you know in them. But it doesn’t tell you then the age of the people involved or the event they were attending. That sadly requires me digging into each of the folders, relabeling them and then creating instances of the new folders in multiple places. The number one lesson of the family history project is to have copies of images. I cannot tell you how many times we had to take slide scans and work with them to see if we could at least recover a part of the image.

Flow, a processing tool from Microsoft is pretty cool. If you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend it for quick process integration. There are a number of pre-built solutions the tool has. All you need to do to sign up is to have a Microsoft ID. If you have an outlook.com account (or an old Hotmail account) you can log in. It’s a really cool on-line automation system. Having played with Chef and Puppet, which are powerful process automation tools, Flow is really easy to use. It is not as powerful as the two automation tools mentioned, but it has some pretty cool functionality built into it!

Now if I could only find my car keys.

Images today courtesy of Dr. Hans O Andersen and come from his collection of digital pictures. Except for the picture of my computer hard drive, and the image showing all the picture disks. That one was taken this morning!

.doc

digital fanatic