Wandering IoT security and other disconnected topics…

Aunt Dorothy, Uncle Rick and Karl (the dog)I am going to make a small change in my professional blog starting today. From time to time, or several times a week I am going to share the pictures of my father and my grandfather. Some of the pictures will be from more than 40 years ago, they have never been seen by another other than the photographer twice (once when taken, once when developed) or have only been shared with family members. It is a small change but one I am going to try to do for a while. I have more than 40,000 slides scanned now and need to share some of them.

Today’s images are of the Wisconsin River, near Wisconsin Dells Wisconsin.

Yesterday I realized just how rusty my UNIX command skills are. Trying to install on a device running embedded Linux and I am really rusty. A little research is in order to figure out what command I am running incorrectly. Sadly, the skills we don’t use are the ones that fall away.

The concept of connected projectors is one that interests me right now, first off because I got the new XGIMI H1 device and secondly because I am trying to reduce the wires in my home media room. Today I have a wire running across the floor from time to time to use the PC running Oculus Rift. In part because of the reality of cabling, in part because the video card doesn’t have two HDMI out puts. That is a device that would be a huge market boost for VR/AR systems an HDMI in with two active outs. Today there are a lot of HDMI switches (one in, switch one out).

Sep18_16I’ve been playing with a product called Prijector. Interesting solution, it connects to your projector and to your network allowing you to connect. The XGIMI H1 has android/iOS integration already, so I am using the Prijector for my computer. First off it is a great solution for the problem of creating a network connected projector. The software is easy to install.

I do like the native iOS software that came with the H1 better overall (it is easier to use) but you don’t have the flexibility Prijector gives you with a PC connected. Again, the goal of a network connected projector is to reduce the number of wires. Currently with the computer and Oculus Rift installed (plus other devices) there are a large number of cables in the media room.

Yesterday the Federal Trade Commission opened up its 25,000 dollar grand prize for anyone submitting a solution to the reality of IoT and home security. The link takes you to the description of how to enter the program.

Personally, I am an advocate for creating modular home security components for IoT devices across he boards, industrial, commercial and home. A modular security system would allow the owner to remove the existing security module and replace that module with another one. The overall cost of deploying IoT devices would be lessened with this model. Additionally, given the nature of IoT devices the security module could be reprogrammed to move it from existing software levels to a new software level quickly. The reality of security is more making the attacker have to guess multiple times, rather than one time and in.

Sep20_26Of course, rewriteable IoT device security modules do present a problem, the hacker can also rewrite the security module. That is why the removable part is also important. I can take my video surveillance device and remove the existing security chip to place a new one into the device. This allows companies to quickie upgrade to newer security, the same for home owners. Without massive replacement projects (just someone walking around lifting existing security chips off IoT devices and replacing). You could even create specific location rules for security changes of IoT devices, forcing a local presence rather than a remote presence thus reducing the remote change risk.

Overall, it is a really cool contest from the FTC. Nice to see the US Government start thinking about the security of the art of the possible!

.doc

Futurist

All pictures copyright Henry O Andersen.