Wandering around the edges of 360 degree camera tech…

3As I think about my posts over the past month or so I realized I am lacking a central or consistent theme for my posts in December 2016. In part because I am between books, normally I write components of my books on my blog and then edit it, and publish it with tons of additional content. That way there is a separation between blog and books. The books, being more than simply restating the blogs.

The first image of is of Camorama device.

That said I haven’t had a unifying theme. I’ve talked a lot about weather gadgets and boating tech but no theme there. Well a minor theme but more one I have hummed for years. The reality of technology and its impact on me. I ride the wave of change often in the technology world. Not because I am someone that lacks the ability to concentrate on one thing. I do and can do so. It is more that I see things emerging that are interesting to me and so I experiment with and write about the future of what is out there.

Today’s theme less blog is not now themed the lack of theme’s in Scott’s technical blog over the past month or so. Today I wanted to talk a little bit about 360 degree cameras. I’ve played with several of the shipping/available cameras and some of their functionality is amazing. The reality of a 360-degree camera or a 180 that can be routed is that they have to have multiple lens. That means you also have to have software that does the overall stitching. The layout of the lenses has to overlap so to create a seamless 360-degree image it is important that you have software that can define the edges for each camera.

They are novelty cameras today, except in the larger arena where some of the newer, bigger 360 degree cameras are used for VR and realty image creation. The virtual walk trough’s (with enough detail to not look like a 4-year-old with a cell phone made them) of a house or building location require a considerable amount of camera power. There are professional 360 cameras out that cover that area but they run between 20 and 25 thousand dollars. I am focused more on consumer level devices that are 499 and less retail.

First off, there remains as I have talked about many times, a value to having a standalone camera. When you get into the specialty area of photography the need for the stand alone increases radically. This is an area where you really need stand alone and not an add on to your phone. It is really disconcerting to have a jumpy 360 video.

2Secondly, they are awkward as hand held. Notice all three, one is an action came so it is a little easier to hold and smaller, but the other two are made for tripod use. I am a fan of all three, they cover all sides of interesting video and stills.

The second image is of the Bubl camera.

Bubl is the first unit (circular) I backed on KS/IG and the first I’ve used. Giroptic is the second. The cool thing about both is their software – both packages are incredible and easy to use. Giroptic was also a fun project because they included a Selfie stick with the device as part of the Kickstarter funding rewards. The selfie stick actually works with all three cameras I’ve gotten so far.

The last camera is Camorama that recently was launched and funded on Indiegogo. It is also interesting and the software is quite good. I’ve only played with this one for about an hour or so. There are others in the space as well, a couple more that I have used as well, but I find these three so far to be the very best examples of the art of the possible.

It is not about cramming features into camera’s and making them more market friendly. It is about providing functionality that a cell phone camera just cannot offer. That makes 360 a great space for standalone cameras. So, if you are in the market you can’t go wrong with any of the three listed.

.doc

gadget fan