Of scanners, scanning and the reality of an information age…

IMG_0157If you find tracks in the snow, where no one has been before, fresh snow on the ground. If the tracks suddenly appear and you see them, there on the ground in front of you. Look carefully, look closely do you see next to them the tracks of a dog, bounding and playing? Yes, they are there the two sets of tracks there in the woods. If you look closely you will see peanut shells there as well. That is my father and MacGregor, off on an adventure. You will always find them together now, wandering in the woods in search ever of crooked pine trees.

I cannot wait for the first set of time-lapse photos from Bloomsky of snow. Although I am not sure I am ready for the cold that comes with the snow.

One of the things that I spend a lot of time on, with and doing is expanding the art of the possible. The reality of understanding what you can do, helps you design new systems that push that even further into the what are can do now realm.

Based on that I spend a fair amount of time getting things working. Sometimes that is simply beyond easy. Read the 4 step instructions and then start using the technology. Sometimes it is a lot more complex and you end up fighting with the problem for time.

Time is the one thing though, that I am very careful about. I refuse to spend more than 2 hours getting something to work at a time. If I can’t solve the problem in 2 hours I put it away for a couple of days and let my subconscious mind work on it. That way when I do finally have time to return to the original problem it isn’t as bad and I am able to solve it.

One of the technologies that I struggle with is the reality of scanners. Not just by the way scanners that grab information and push it from analog (paper) to digital (computer). Rather I am referring to the many types of scanners that are available today. You can pull a pen from your pocket and use it as a scanner (as long as it was a laser scanner when you put it into your pocket). You can grab a device that will scan (radar) the speed of objects around you. All of these devices feeding information to the many devices we have.

IMG_0386The problem I have is the reality of scanning. I got a great comment yesterday to my post on the information age. The person told me that Google Search and Wikipedia were the proof that the information age did and had already sprung.

My reply to that was the same one I have blogged and presented publicly for more than two years now. Too much information that isn’t available for Google to search and too much information that while in Wikipedia, is WRONG. The age of the dinosaurs includes historically the rise and fall of the dinosaurs so from a pure age of information reality we can say that this, the time of information rising, is part of the information age. But I would argue based on that we are actually really early in the time of rising. Really, really, really early in fact. Not well into the rising. If anything, we are just into the launching of the possible age.

Hence my scanner issue. You see, there are places I can still go where everything is on paper. Things that are stored in boxes, paperwork that is shared and filed. The digital world lying beyond the grasp of the people, beyond the understanding. When I can go to Wikipedia and find that information, then we are in the dawning of the information age.

When you can Bing or Google search for anything and find it, then we are there. Certainly, the tools of the information age are growing. I can scan virtually anything now, 2d, 3d, radar, sonar and so on. But not all of the world yet can do this. Not everyone can easily access information.

So, we sit here on the edge of the cliff. I wonder if we realize how wonderful the other side would be.

.doc

Information junkie