How I learned (not) to love the cellular phone camera.

There is a line that is very faint now between devices, gadgets and sensors. It was, once upon a time an extremely clear line. Now, that line has faded with the passage of time, and the merging of devices, gadgets and sensors.

You can upon examine a chronology of cellular devices show the merging. GPS and location services the initial merge. Then the addition of virtually anything else you want to track. Wind Speed? No problem just adds the phenomenal Valuud device. Plug it in and away you go.

There was a time when you carried lots of gadgets. I still argue that carrying a digital camera, at the very least a point and shoot is a good idea. Yet the cell phone takes good pictures. But there are times when you need more than good. There are times you want great. Cell phones at best take good pictures not great. On my recent vacation, as a case in point. I took more than 6500 total pictures. Less than 40 in the end were on the cellular phone.

I still have some of my gadgets because frankly I can’t let them go. For example, truly geeky I have the old radar screen from my boat in my office. Yes, I am a geek. Yes, it is on display. Yes, that is a little strange but I like it.

I also have my Delorme PN60 handheld GPS. It is the last GPS I bought that wasn’t built into something else (boat/car). It is a device I will keep as an emergency backup for driving and the car. But it is only an emergency backup now (we have paper charts of the Chesapeake Bay as well).

That said most old devices are either sold or passed on to another person in the family. Or at times we bundle a bunch of them together and wander off to the main Goodwill office. The tax deduction is nice and the space to add new gadgets is always welcomed.

First off, moving from wired to wireless connections is important. I have enough spaghetti in my office now so the next sets of gadgets operate wirelessly. No more USB, no more power other than charging and so on. Wireless connections are key. I’ve talked before about creating and building an environment that supports your future IoT/CPS bandwidth requirements. Network segmentation is the future for the home user. Do it now when it is a much less painful process. When you have to switch 20 devices you will regret it. When you are switching 4 devices it is so much easier. Either way you have to do the initial set-up.

The next thing is device functionality. What can the device do well and what other things can it do, effectively? The reality of Swiss knife devices is lots of capabilities but few things that are done effectively (you wouldn’t saw down a tree with a Swiss army knife). Ergo my contents pounding on cellular phone cameras. While interesting they just don’t cut the long term use mustard.

So what other devices then are weak in areas that require shoring up. So the conversation today is focused on home use not business use. There is a huge difference between business technology use and home technology use. First off the security at home tends to be lower than business security. But also the money spent on Hardware tends to be less at home than you do in an enterprise or government setting. There tends to be devices from work in the home, so over time I would suspect the reality of home security has to improve. But you also tend to have less deployed at home than an enterprise does. Unless you are a gadget person.

So what is needed. First do you ever need files form home when you are on vacation or at work? If you do, having secure remote access is your first got to have technology. I like the Lima product when it comes to remote access. There are many, consider however what you are sharing and how secure is the service.

.doc

gadget geek