In response to the horror of information hoarding and thoughts on VR /AR implementations…

I got an irate email from someone that well, I have considered an information hoarder for a long time. They said my portrayal of information hoarding as the same as people that hoard and fill their houses was terrible and that I should take that down.

He’s right I should. Information hoarding is a far more impactful problem than the hoarding disorder portrayed in the image. That is a horrible awful disorder that requires medical attention, help and support. The real impact of information hoarding has yet to be measured. Frankly because we don’t even know how much information hasn’t been shared.

Transitioning away from responding to angry readers to an interesting topic I am seeing a lot of in the blog world right now. The reality of virtual and augmented reality.

I’ve been playing with VR for the past month or so. During that time, I’ve found a number of interesting applications that are intriguing. One of the easy applications of the concepts of VR is the reality of 3d scanning and printing. Applications that allow you to pull the object you are considering into the VR system to view, and modify the object will be extremely useful. Games are very cool in VR. The first person shooter world will explode again in that world. Sims and other Sim type programs will also have a great market explosion.

The thing that holds back VR is the same thing that is holding back 3d printing today. 3d printing is interesting and fun, but the time spent to create something is too long today. 4-5 hours for most printing. In fact, it takes around 200 hours to print most of a chess set. Those numbers will come down over time but today that is a limiter.

So what will it take for the market to evolve into the AR/VR world (I lump augmented reality and virtual reality together. They have similar basis and construction.

1. Safety first- It’s critical that users of VR and AR systems be safe. We see, with the awesome Pokémon Go response that there are risks with AR. As we head down this path managed AR and VR deployments would be critical. IE geocached safe locations for AR games. Nowhere near streets and nowhere near places that shouldn’t have virtual creatures.

2. Security first – by planning or interacting with a system I should not end up with a security risk or a security exposure. The greatest threat to the security of any single location is the person walking in the front door. Who knows what they are carrying with them.

3. Headsets have to be smaller. Oculus Rift has well amazing VR capabilities. I am enjoying playing with the capabilities but the headset is still too heavy.

Funny.

The first two are critical. While I applaud the Pokémon GO concept (get people out and about) the implementation leaves a lot to be desired. It shows the possible and reveals the negative very quickly. There have been several reported injuries of Pokémon chasers and cars colliding. Shockingly the cars won every single one of those collisions.

There are also even more scary reports of the game actually interacting directly with information stored in you google account. Look it may not be true that it (the game) is doing that. But, if it is possible someone else is doing it already.

The positive impact is getting kids up and moving around while playing a game. That was the dream of the Xbox Kinect system, as well as the interactive PlayStation and Wii controllers. But that really hasn’t taken off. VR is less motion based (you tend to be sitting or standing in a controlled space) but over time that will merge with the AR capabilities and provide motion as well as interaction. Searching my office for something I know I put down will be a lot easier with VR. Why? I can tag objects by time. So when searching my virtual office, and knowing when I put something down, I will only see objects touched in or around that time period.

In my book The Syncverse, I described a system like the one in the image above. The only problem with implementing it today, is you can’t travel outside the country you are from. The data charges would kill you while roaming. But the concept is amazing.

Now if I could only find my VR headset.

.doc

VR/AR futurist