Once more into the why use a digital camera instead of an iPhone/android phone as your primary camera!

I realize that I have played this message over and over. Why Cellular phones are at this point really not the answer to the question what camera should I take with me. I’ve used the analogy before about using a Swiss army knife to cut down a tree. Yes, you could, but at some point why even try? It would take a really long time.

Recently I spent a number of days taking pictures. Specifically, a family vacation. I used my Olympus TG-4 and my Canon 5DS, occasionally using my iPhone.

109A3539

P6260002P6260018109A3600109A3628109A3722109A3756

 

 

 

1. The quality of pictures from the first two with dedicated lenses and dedicated camera hardware are heads and tails above the quality of the cellular phone pictures. Period.

2. The utility of the cell phone is having it with you, but when you do have your other camera, not using it at that point feels kind of silly.

3. Image stabilization is much greater with the point and shoot and even more with the DSLR than with the cellular phone.

4. Ease of holding, viewing and shooting. At some point however on the vacation I noticed the cell phone users. You can’t miss them. They are seeing something through their cellular phone with the phone in front of them all the time. To those people using iPads and Android tablet’s seriously? They block the sun. I use my android and my iPad for video conferencing not for taking pictures while walking around.

Now, my iPhone takes good pictures. When it is all I have, it does a good job. What I am talking about here is the difference in quality and frankly its huge. The images shared with this blog all came from the recent trip and all are from either the 16 MP Olympus or the 50 MP Canon.

That got me thinking about a scale.

1. Take: Images I want to capture to remember

2. Take and share: Images I want to capture and share

3. Take, share and print: Images I want to capture, share and print

If we consider that scale, then we now have a funnel. The vast number of pictures taken (digital) allows for more memories of events. But if you take those you probably won’t share them unless something happens that is unusual. The next phase is images you want to share. I have set-up a family history project so having quality images Is important. The final one is the interesting one. There are pictures that you want to print. Images that you want to have an examine. Those are the ones that require more than cellular camera.

clip_image002I realize I am old school in the sense that I grew up in the old days of SLR cameras and the original point and shoots. I loved my Kodak Instamatic 110. Film was expensive and so was developing but I loved the camera. I have had a camera since I was 11 years old. I’ve used the Kodak 135, my father’s Pentax Cameras (I still have them displayed in my house) and have used no more than 25 different digital cameras over the years. I know the convince of cellular phones makes that first category seem like the only one worth considering. But I caution you to consider the future. Consider your family history taken with less than wonderful imaging.

Let’s not bury the DSLR and Digital Point and Shoot yet. They still have a place. 4k video on a cellular phone doesn’t equal 4k video taken on a DSLR or Digital Point and Shoot.

.doc

don’t throw out your point and shoot camera