Ask not for whom the Geiger counter pings, it pings for you!

Data, it is a vast sea. A massive amount of liquid and I don’t have a cup. Plus, that is just what is on my cellular, it doesn’t even start to consider the reality of adding additional capture sensors to the overall process. Right now I can plug a device into the audio port of my iPhone and collect the following:

  • UV
  • Radiation
  • Weather

Additionally, I can also reach for and plug in a Breathalyzer and connect to remote pens and so on. The data generated is fairly large. The reality of the data is that I don’t always know what I am collecting. Not when you plug in, but rather what data is being collected around me. I know for example, and I have brought it up previously, that there is a large amount of “me data” collected that while I own it in theory I can’t control it. Security cameras capture my image, that I own, constantly. In fact, the concern/reality of data is that it is produced well beyond my device. It is produced well beyond my control. Once produced what happens to that data?

To date, no one has sued at a high enough court level to produce the legal answer to the question who owns my image. That will come I suspect. Today published pictures do require attribution. That “who is in this picture” requirement should apply to all stored images.

Back however, to the original point of connected vs connecting devices. Beyond the devices I can plug into my cellular phone, my phone can connect to any number of other devices. Cars are a great example using devices like Automatic you can acquire data about your car. Using your cellular device, you can connect to your car as an internet (in-car Wi-Fi) and as a car phone. Connecting to services your phone becomes even more valuable.

Connected as in above allows you to gather point data (data where you are) connecting allows you to connect to specialized data collection systems. There are many remote weather systems that allow you to connect to a weather station at your home regardless of where you are. The same is true for your home climate system (connecting remotely and managing the environment of your home).

The data you can collect then has to be managed. By managed there are two sides, the first being consumption of the data and the second being storage of the data. If you are checking your blood alcohol level real time readings are critical. If you are checking your blood sugar or radiation, real time readings are also critical. This data mapping becomes as important as the data you are capturing. The reality of data is more the criticality of the data consumption than it is the data. Weather data may be archival until there is a tornado than it moves to critical. Knowing where the data is on the spectrum (do I need it NOW) versus knowing if I should interrupt the user (break into their functional screen) becomes critical.

Personally this is why I believe PopSlate, and smart watches, are going to change the way information is presented to us. As we offload data presentation to a number of additional screens we now have the capability to interact with the data in an informed manner. Information that I don’t need right now, but will need soon goes on the second screen. Information that requires interaction now, goes on the smart watch screen and buzzes my wrist as a notification. Information that is too large for my cellular screen ask for a screen to present on and so forth.

The future of the screen and the future of the connected device will continue to change. What we present and what we consume will also change. The value of knowing atmospheric radiation levels is low. The value, after an earthquake and problems with a nuclear power plant near you, priceless.

The data you need presented in an easily consumed model. It’s not just the data, it’s not just the presentation it is the time you need the data in.

.doc

Seeker