Please stop posting the generational comparisons. They are wrong on so many levels…

A laser guided sight is more accurate than a human using a sight. The simple reality of a laser is that once connected to something you are more accurate.

For me accuracy is patience. It isn’t for everyone. But for me the thing that decreases my accuracy is always my patience. When I am patient I am a pretty good dart player. When I rush, I miss. Of course that knowledge goes out the window if its dart’s and beer. Then my accuracy decreases regardless of my patience. But for the most part if I take a moment, breathe and relax my accuracy improves. It’s why I leave space between me and the car in front of me. Accuracy.

Thinking about accuracy, its about skill and time. Time is the one factor that impacts accuracy heavily. If your time is compressed then you run the risk of declining accuracy. Its old resource triangle (Time, Money and People). You can constrain any one of those but you can constrain two. If you squeeze time, then you have to allow the project ample money and people to be successful.

In playing sports I learned that it is easier to be accurate with a fixed target (Basketball) and only one impediment (the person guarding you) than it is to be accurate with two moving targets (football). One moving target coming at you, the other going away from you (football) is the hardest. I never played quarterback in anything other than touch football or flag football but those two to me were the toughest. Your frame of reference changing to meet the oncoming traffic.

Becoming more accurate is a skill I don’t have for football. I am pretty good at picking the right receiver but accuracy because of pressure always made me less effective. To become a professional you have to invest 10,000 hours. That investment is where you learn the accuracy under pressure.

Recently I’ve seen a number of generational charts. Detailing the differences between Baby Boomers, GenX and Millennial. Each detailing the desired pattern of each generation.

These shouldn’t bother me but they do. They are not accurate. They are pretty broad and sweeping generalizations. The goal of communication is to provide a framework where two different organisms, people or groups can exchange information. These sheets don’t do that. They actually create a gulf that doesn’t exist. My parents come from the Greatest Generation. I am the very tail end of the Baby Boomers. My children are millennial. I can tell you that my kids listen to classic rock and classical music. They enjoy watching Star Wars movies with their dad. We argue the many different aspects of the movie. We argue the intent of Deadpool. There is no massive gulf there between the way they interact with the world and the way I interact with the world.

What value do these comparisons have. They do little other than annoy me. Each of the generations builds so that the next one has something to start with. That common framework of what is already there, is a part of each generation. Why must we list what is different (and by the way in an insulting way – my favorite music is anything from the 1700’s and anything from Neil Young, while the Beatles had great songs, as did the Who and the Rolling Stones, they aren’t my favorites). These broad sweeping generalizations do little but create gaps that don’t exist.

.doc

Mind the gap!