Fishing is more than sitting in a boat waiting…

Fishing is a process of learning, understanding and being able to repeat what is successful. For example, I grew up and learned to fish on a small to medium sized lake in central Wisconsin. I was taught fishing by a person that had lived and fished on that lake for 35 years by the time I wandered along. He knew where the fish were. Why? He had studied the lake and conditions as well as the habits of fish. I attempted to recreate that on a lake in Indiana (much larger large) and failed. Why? Lack of tools and knowledge.

I lacked the knowledge and understanding of the type of fish, water conditions and flow within the lake. Later, when I was older I spent item studying the lake. Lake Monroe has three distinct water flows in it. Those distinct water flows are favorite by different types of fish. Out of that study years ago, I wrote a book called Danny and the Corporate Ladder. It was the story of person who hated his job. But he loved fishing. He managed to win the Crapiethon on Lake Monroe and was able to for a time, become a professional fisherman.

That book was never published. Parts of it (two chapters) were published in the Society of Dead Teachers journal “Kindle the Flame” but as the editor in chief of that publication I am not sure it counts that some of my fiction was published. We did have over 100 people subscribed at one point so a few people actually read the work.

Fishing is about patience. As a young adult fishing was about beer. We discovered once at Lake Lemon that catfish won’t bite a hook soaked in beer. But we didn’t care. The goal of the trip was to sit, watch the moon rise and relax. Catching a catfish at that point would have been somewhat messy.

It is, however, also about knowledge. Knowing the flow of the lake, temperature of the water and the preferences of various types of fish. You don’t go surface fishing for catfish and you won’t catch Bass in the middle of the lake. They each have specific habitats and environments they like.

Fishing can be fun. It can be relaxing. It can be competitive. It can be boring. But you have to engage and try it to find out which it is for you. Learning to fish in Wisconsin I grew to love fishing. Later with my dad, talking and fishing early in the morning I loved fishing for different reasons. It was time with my dad, as fishing in Wisconsin was time with my grandfather. I caught more fish in Wisconsin than dad and I ever caught on Lake Monroe. In fact I was more successful camping and fishing on the feeder streams of Lake Monroe than I ever was fishing the lake itself.

It is also a metaphor for life. What we don’t try remains unknown. The unknown is always something we worry about. It scares us and based on that we react in fear.

Open to experiences means that on the path you’ve chosen you don’t reject things because you haven’t tried them. You simply say “my path is different. But I am happy for you.”

.doc

Ready to fish the Chesapeake!