The data doesn’t matter if it arrives late.

Build your own sensors – it doesn’t take much. You can start with an Arduino board or the Intel Edison board (great marketing job Intel). Today you can get an entire computer with an embedded (and functioning OS) on a box not much bigger than a USB key.

The primary reception device is the variable. Today you can connect your laptop (Windows 10 has amazing support built in for IoT devices) or Android/Apple products. With the Android products your only limitation is the need for internal device components like Accelerometers.

Of course once you have all that data what do you do with it? Big Data is all the buzz, but the reality of big data is that it is simply data produced that cannot be consumed in the time needed for the data to be effective. Someone penetrated your network a week ago is in the end big data that is useless. In a week your entire portfolio of IP can be gone.

Personally I can read weather data. I argue with the TV weather people all the time. Why? I’ve spent years learning the nuances of weather data. I currently have two weather stations at my home. One that broadcasts to the internet and can be consumed by both cellular and remote network viewing. The other requires a direct USB connection. They are close to each other and usually vary by less than .1 degree. The information produced including weather trends by both units isn’t big data to me. But if you ask other people in my neighborhood, most likely that data is big data to them. They consume weather from the radio or TV, a 30 second blurb of what is coming. They don’t want to know the variance in the barometric pressure by the hour. They just want to know if it is going to rain or not. (or worse is it going to snow and snow a lot?)

We have sensors producing data, given the nature of data and the reality of who is viewing the data requires some level of processing. Audience is critical when you are talking about data. Who is going to consume the data you are producing?

The other side of the data produced is the coverage of that data. Weather data collected from my home impacts me, and my neighbors. Combined with 100 other weather stations as far away from me as 200 miles gives me a good picture of what weather is going to happen in my area in the next two – four hours. If I jump up to weather Satellite imagery (on my phone or tablet) I can project the weather out 12-24 hours and beyond. Like a mesh the more connections the data has the more complete it is.

Data that the human or system cannot process is big data. But big data that doesn’t have the coverage or isn’t compiled in time is also a problem. No mesh in the data, you run risks. Now the mesh shown is shown on purpose. The coverage of the data has to fill both the mesh itself and the holes in the mesh.

Someone is breaking into your physical network. Knowing what they are using to break in and how they are getting past your security is critical for the response. So being able to process that information quickly is a huge plus.

Personally I think the world of VR and network security are bound to come together. The ultimate tracking system is the human eye. Why? Unlike a computer tracking motion it can quickly determine the nature of the target. Inbound threat, then you need to respond. Inbound person seeking help, But it is all about making the data actionable. Today, I am going to watch football. Its going to rain the early am and I will relax until later in the day when it clears.

.doc

weather fanatic…