From Inquiry to OODA building a framework for Smart Cities…

carousel 015

As a child I grew up with the model on the left. Ask my dad a question and most likely you would get an answer on this spectrum. This is ingrained in how I think. I actually used this model as a teacher when teaching everything. Not just science but reading, math and history. My rationale was that this was how you began to understand the world around you. My father invented this model and well he taught it to me for many years.

As I progressed through my IT career I came back to this model over and over. It just fits, when you are trouble shooting problem son a network this works. Observe, come up with explanations, predict possible new outcomes and then confirm that you were right. I used this as a helpdesk professionals and I use this as a software architect. It is the underlying model of how you can interact with a customer to determine their overall requirements for project.

I love hearing how smart people think. That is why as I moved through my career I have modified my father’s original thinking. However recently I have actually adopted the OODA loop. It is both a model and framework to base and build decisions. The Inquiry model fits nicely into the observation and orientation components of the OODA loop.

This plays well with my personal modification based on Bill Gates “right information, right time to make the right decision.” It also fits nicely with the model I grew up with (Inquiry). Its why I have dived deeply into what Mr. Boyd produced.

As a long time KM and Learning person I found this diagram intriguing. This takes the OODA loop and applies it to building a KM infrastructure. In my book Transitional Services I talked about the concept of building a KM system called the DLM (or Document Lifecycle Management copyrighted Scott Andersen). in DLM you use SME’s to move information form the napkin to reusable IP. But this also works for the broader implementation of a learning system that encompasses the what and how of learning styles.

Where the observation module allows the good instructor to quickly ascertain the learning styles in the room. Adults are very set in their learning styles. Based on that you have to consider not only the impact of the learning styles, but also the style sin the room. Where with children you don’t always sues humor, with adults humor is critical.

So over the next few days I am working to apply these models to Smart Cities. With the broad sweeping brush of generality at first but hopefully slowly peeling the onion to the actual potential application of the overall problems.

Cyber Physical Systems (CPS) and the Internet of Things will drive the Smart Cities of tomorrow. Personally I think the rise of City Brokers would actually speed up the process radically. Given the ability to provide a Framework both for implementation, integration and management of remote CPS devices, the City Broker may be the answer.

More to come!

.doc

Smart City #mysmartcity