A couple of points from my last few blogs and a though on devise and bandwidth…

A couple of really quick updates. On windows 10 upgrades I am 2 for 3. The one upgrade that I knew would be the hardest didn’t take the first time. So a couple of weeks of updating all the drivers on the machine and then try again. It rolled back to windows 7 quite nicely.

The new Pebble Time uses Bluetooth LE. At first I was like well ok. So big deal. The battery life is about the same as the old one, so you aren’t saving me power. Then, as I was walking to the restroom at work I got an alert. I used to use alerts about a 1/3 of the way to the bathroom. Now I get them on my entire floor. The range of the device is much better.

Someday you will get a Pebble for 39 dollars. The only downside is that you have to accept Bluetooth ads wherever you are. On the train, here about restaurants at the next stop. On the road, find out about upcoming gas stations. The watch will be cheap but it will be constantly buzzing with adds.

I do wonder what happens as we expand the number of Bluetooth connected devices. Do telephone calls always take priority on a cell phone devices or is there a logical process that can be created. Cellular calls take priority over everything except personal safety sensors. Personal safety sensors only cut in when your personal safety is threatened.

  • Otherwise you may see “open manhole in front of you” flash on your watch as you plunge into cold sewer water or worse.
  • What a horrible thing for a tombstone. His PAN was overloaded and his priority system failed. We lost him far to early.

Home networks are going to be saturated. There are so many things that you will have to have connections for that you will go crazy. If you have a solar system on your roof, you will need a digital meter on your house that can exchange information with the power company. You will have personal presentence and conferencing devices to work from home more effectively. Home automation, home security and all of those components will consume bandwidth. You will have more and more devices (50 billion devices by 2020 divided by 8 billion people is 6.25 devices per person in the entire world. Or in a house with four people 25 devices. I suspect the reality of devices will be more concentrated initially in developed countries. I also wonder what a device counts as.

That leads me to believe that the distribution may be closer to 10-12 devices per person in developed countries. The devices will catch up quickly as developing nations jump into this. Eventually we will be talking about closer to 100 billion devices or more very quickly.

All of them require an amount of bandwidth. I wonder if there is that much bandwidth today.

.doc

Wandering the halls of CPS…