Creation the Internet of Actionable data…

As I think about the next big thing I keep coming back to the next tier of IoT. When I was a school teacher I remember always making sure that all the students participated. Not just the one student with their hand in the air for every question. It was simply a fairness thing, everyone has something to contribute.

The concept then would become more of an intelligent mesh. The ability of your device to pick the right sensor to communicate with. That means in the end we need to create a protocol for sensor communication.

When I was a child many years ago in the dark ages of technology we had a national warning system. It is still in place although you are less likely to run into it now. Back in my childhood it was on a lot more often. This is a test of the emergency warning system. Had this been a real disaster you would been told that. We (this last part I am adding after the fact) probably wouldn’t be blaring a nice sound at you, we would be sending the sound of fingers on a chalkboard to get your attention if this really were an emergency.

We can create and manage the information. I like the concept (again tongue in cheek) of a gun sensor at the door of a night club. You get notified when the night club with 200 people reaches more than 100 guns.

In the end the sensor is there to provide information. We care and manage the information it provides based on our decision criteria. Cloud to me is a really critical criteria. Floods happening 2000 miles away make me sad. Someone could get hurt and that is bad. Floods 20 miles up river from me become a little more relevant. That water has to go somewhere and normally rivers flow roughly in their banks.

The Syncverse introduces the concept of the Myverse. Your place for data. The filters that are used to manage the location of data within the Myverse (on my cellular, on my laptop, on a local server, in the cloud) are managed by the rules you create. You determine the intelligence of the rules.

Taking that concept and then applying the broader concept of the screen as a service that I outlined and posted on Linkedin. This creates three distinct rules for information.

  1. Pay attention to the device I am using
  2. Be aware of the criticality of the information (if it impacts my safety make it available on every device)
  3. Critical information requires a simple confirmation system

The first again builds on the concept of the screen as a service. Don’t send me a complex four page alert on my cellular screen or my smart watch. It doesn’t work in the end. Make sure that information that has a direct impact on me personally or the people around me get’s send to every device in the proper format for that device. Where rule 2 builds on rule 1. Finally if it is information that is critical there needs to be an automated repose that the message was received.

It is to leverage my new favorite decision making model critical that you build systems that are able to:

  1. Impact observation
  2. Impact Orientation
  3. To drive good decisions

Building a system based on information and sensors that in the end supports people getting information, in the right format for the device they are using and in a manner that denotes the criticality of the information. A long contrived way to in the end simply say “right information at the right time to make good decisions” as more clearly stated by Bill Gates.

My device. My information. My decision. My action.

.doc

Scott Andersen

IASA Fellow