Family History project recap and statistics…

Today is a Family history project math day.

image

The graph shows the distribution of pictures I’ve taken over the years. The years in question are at the bottom of the image and start in 1971 (my first camera) and move to the later years when I was having children.

Two quick findings:

  1. Having kids increases the number of pictures you take
  2. The transition from my father taking most of the pictures to me taking most of the pictures occurs first for my family in 1991 and then for the whole family around 2001.

I suspect most people have a similar curve. When you are younger you really don’t have a lot of interest in picture taking. With digital however I suspect my children’s curve to be slightly different with the steep rise (increased pictures) occurring earlier in life. In the early years the cost of taking pictures was higher for me than it would be for them.

Average pictures taken per year  
1971 to 1988 42.88235
1988 to 1990 29.5
1990 to 2001 500
2001 to now 4642.857

1988 to 1990 I was recovering from divorce and didn’t often taken pictures. Interesting because around 1992 the pictures actually exceed 500 per year as that is when my daughter was born. They increased again in 1998 as that was when the boys were born.

I find the numbers intriguing. As I said my own children will have different numbers. Of the pictures Jakki has taken I have 2400 of them stored on the network. That puts her roughly 1700 pictures ahead of me. Plus, I don’t have all her pictures. Like her grandfather she only shares the pictures she thinks are good.

The fun of a family history project is discovering and recovering events that happened long ago, or yesterday. The current stats for the Andersen Family History Project are:

9500 scans of pictures (Joan Ralstin, Ralstin Family and Barb and Scott family pictures)

10400 scans of slides (Hans O Andersen and Henry O Andersen)

288 blogs

It has been a wonderful project so far. Lots of great memories and in the end a few sad ones as well.

.doc

Scott Andersen

IASA Fellow.