A year in review 2014

It has not been the best year. The timeline starts out bad and stays bad for most of the year. But in the end we are still here and still fighting the good fight.

In February 2014 I was notified of a layoff. It was the first time in my career I was on the laying off side, that was painful both career and emotionally. It made April a very tough month for me (the day of the layoff was March 30th).

In March Francine Marshmutt Andersen, the dog that lived with us her entire life from puppy to adult passed away due to a very aggressive cancer. It came without warning and made for a very difficult time for everyone. She was an awesome dog and will be missed forever.

For the first time in my adult life I was unemployed for the month of April. The first glimmer of goodness came for 2014 as Raven Poe Andersen joined our family in April. She is a force of nature and frankly has changed the snuggling and petting order in the family. She has chosen the boys to be her people. She actually will yell at the boys when it is time for a walk, or time to be fed. It makes me laugh.

At the end of April I did something now that I regret more than anything. I made a fast bad decision about a company and joined them. The decision violated everything my grandfather taught me about choosing companies and I regretted that decision very quickly. I regret it more now than I did then but at the time it was a horrible decision.

June brought the death of my father. June 4, 2014. It hurt for a time, it hurts still as does the passing of Grandfather did 18 years ago. The month of June was a blur and frankly was the worst part then of 2014. It seemed the year was destined to end with only sadness as its leave behind.

A new opportunity came my way though at the end of the summer and things began to turn around. I miss my dad and I miss Fran. I don’t miss the place I mistakenly choose to work for a time but I have moved on.

In the end 2014 was a year of highs and lows. Many more in the end lows than normally anyone would like. We lost people along the way that were more than simply guideposts and references. We lost people that were shapers and people of great impact.

Today marks the beginning of 2015. Things are moving back out of the trough of despair. My new job is good. Barb loves her job. Jakki loves her new job. The boys are still looking for jobs but they are doing the family history project so they have a little spending money in their pockets. We added a 3rd dog for the first time the end of December. Tamsyn Andersen I don’t remember her middle name joined us. She is just like the person she choose (Jakki) a picky eater that is a bit bossy at times.

The past is in the rearview mirror and 2014 is fading with the last light of the last day. Now we gird for the battle that will be 2015. Its going to be a better year.

.doc

Scott Andersen

IASA Fellow.