Family history project and in the end the value of pictures…

We are starting family history project 2. Scanning all the pictures we taken and had printed over the years. The big find of the morning – the picture of Leslie Ralstin’s WWII LZ. Pictures will take longer (2 at a time) but there are many fewer pictures printed.

This will add to our family history project.

P0000045

Digital images are so wonderful. You can share them in so many different ways. This is the 1998 Halloween costumes. Barb as the cat in the hat. Jakki and Blue a costume made by her grandmother and Thing 1 and Thing 2. The boys weren’t actually playing out of character if you know the thing 1 and 2 reality.

I spent last week in Training in Montreal Canada.  As is usual when I attend training I have a stack of digital and paper notes to scan and evaluate. I get inspired and end up taking notes about a ton of things that often lead to other things later but at the time just a reference point for me to consider. In the end they represent the points of innovation for me.

Back in the day we had slide projectors and screens. Or photo albums that sat on the coffee table (my sister and I used to rush to the photo albums at my grandparents house. Pictures of them back in the day or pictures of mom when she was little). Now you can happily sit in the living room and watch the photo albums on your Dish receiver, Xbox One or Fire TV. They all support remote media sources.

The connection to history.

If, we wander back to my topic of the past few weeks the data of the Internet of things (DiOT) images are one that intrigues me. I wrote the Syncverse based on the fact that I wanted to more effectively share pictures. Partially I suspect because in the back of my mind I knew there were thousands of pictures my dad had taken that I hadn’t seen. But also because the relevance of an event is as much the memory of that event as what actually happens.

In the future I suspect each of us will house hundreds of photo streams. Images and pictures we share with the world, share with only our family and perhaps even share with just ourselves. Data that we will consume that has less metadata assigned to it beyond what the camera includes (time, date, location etc.).

That is the funny thing about the Internet of things (iOT) it is as much a merging of the Screen as a Service concept, with the concept of sensors everywhere. It is the concept in the end of presenting information. Not information set lock and forget. But information to be consumed and evaluated.

My grandmothers picture on a train in Chicago Illinois in 1920 has meaning to me specifically. It is a piece of my past. But if viewing that picture you see your long lost great uncle standing there next to the pole allowing the lady to have his seat then there is value to you as well. But knowing there are pictures of what was in the end adds value for all of us.

.doc

Scott Andersen

IASA Fellow.