My new reputation cost 24 dollars and it’s shiny!

http://docandersen.podbean.com
https://docandersen.wordpress.com
http://scottoandersen.wordpress.com
My Amazon author page!!!!
http://www.safegov.org

Yesterday I posted a blog about $$$ to fix your reputation and got a great email. What if, the emailer asked the feedback pr4ovided on the Internet isn’t true? I asked the email sender ok fair enough but what if it is true and you obscure it?

He responded with the untrue feedback isn’t fair. I agree with that. If in fact someone posts something on the Internet that doesn’t mean its true. It also doesn’t mean that it should be hidden.

So we continue to consider the reality of reputation modification the fixing of bad feedback. There are two conversations that have to be had here. The right thing to do and the easy thing to do.

The easy thing to do is to pay someone to sweep the bad information under a rug. The problem is that some of the bad information you are sweeping in the end is real and justified. Some is untrue and should be removed.

What is the responsibility of the person with the Internet feedback in relation to that feedback? In fact what is the responsibility of a company to the feedback from their consumers. Years ago the complaint line was an 800 number. What happened after you hung the phone depended on the organization. Some merely wiped the tape with the complaints on it. The Internet suddenly gave consumers a new place to voice their opinions.

Reputation companies want to take us back to the dark ages of an 800 number and no response. Let’s see if in fact there is a balance that could be achieved. One where the untrue or perhaps the invalidated feedback could be moved to a place where it lives on but people only use it if there is no other feedback.

I have over the years of this blog spoken of several companies that I personally feel fail as customer service organizations. Not that the companies care, they don’t which is why in the end I posted them with their names in my blog. I do often check the companies I find distasteful on various systems. If my feedback is in the end never brought up by another person I remove my posts. I’ve done that once and that post from 2006 doesn’t exist anywhere even on my hard drive. The other 6 times I posted I found many other people also posted similar things about the same company.

In the end I believe there is a responsibility of the reviewer to verify the information he or she posts. I believe however there is also a responsibility by the company in question to NOT REMOVE BAD FEEDBACK with a reputation company’s help.

That balance is critical. Untrue feedback as my email friend called it is really bad. True feedback removed by a reputation company or pushed so far down the search ratings that you never see it is equally as bad. It is in the end the ethical responsibility of the person to make sure the review or complaint is reasonable. It is the responsibility of the company to ethical accept when they screw up.

It may just be $$$ to fake a good reputation. But in the end a fake reputation will cost you much more than the original $$$ spent.

Come one – come all and see the world’s biggest fake reputation. That’s right people this reputation was built on a sand castle and will topple at any moment. Hurry – Hurry you never know when it will fall…

.doc

Scott Andersen

IASA Fellow.