What, or who is visionary

Personally I call them luminaries. It comes from the concept of shedding light which is what I expect a visionary to do. Open a door or shine light on a concept or process that previouslyhad b ad been “dark.”

So who are the “luminaries” in the architect sky? Who lights the way and shows things we didn’t see before?

1. Paul Priess of IASA. He is driving towards the creation of an architect profession and is lighting the way for thousands to follow.
2. Dana Bredemeyer (and Ruth 🙂 who are taking the concept of visual architecture and making it into a standard.
3. Miha Kralj who actually tried to create the profession architect within the Microsoft partner, services and MVP communities.
4. Alan Hakimi the only person I know who is “being” an enterprise architect at Microsoft.

5. Jim Wilt – one of my personal heroes!

6. Ryan Plant, Richard Webb, Andy Ruth, Delbert Murphy all excellent examples of what an architect could and should be…

Who else? In the last six months I’ve personally been invovled with a lot more architects then I had previously. I find that most architects today are confused about the potential of our profession.

So who are the luminaries today? Who are the people that will help us become a profession rather than a job title.

.Doc

2 thoughts on “What, or who is visionary

  1. Although I feel honored to fester the list, all the due credit goes to Simon Guest – he is (was) a mastermind behind all architectural activities we did in last two years. Similarly for Mike Walker – he did more for Enterprise Architecture inside Microsoft than anyone else I know.

    I think that Angela Yochem, an IASA fellow, is moving really big rocks in the domain of architecture profession as well. And Matt Hessinger is one of deep thinkers we should not forget either.

  2. I would add Lewis Curtis and George Cerbone to the list. Both have opened my eyes to the concept of architecture, specifically Infrastructure Architecture, and the fact that it exists. There are a lot of challenges recognizing an Infrastructure Architect when you see one, and getting a practice behind that is very hard and often missed or misunderstood entirely.

    And +1 for Miha Kralj and Jim Wilt. What I like about what I hear and read from them is that the communication skills of an architect are absolutely key to the profession. And they keep it real.

Comments are closed.